Things That are Disappearing

Hey Jeary here. Do you remember in school learning about card catalogs, and cassette tapes? I do. I was on the internet and saw a head liner that said, “100 Disappearing Things“. I thought I would look and I just thought it was crazy how all of these things would be something my children (when I have some) would ever know about. I think I will name 20 of them so you can know a few. To see more then just click on the link above.

Audio-Visual Entertainment

1.Inserting a VHS tape into a VCR to watch a movie or to record something.

2. Vinyl records. Even today’s DJs are going laptop or CD.

3. Standard-definition, CRT TVs filling up half your living room.

4. 3-D movies meaning red-and-green glasses.

Computers and Videogaming

5. Recording a song in a studio.

6. Turning a PlayStation on its end to try and get a game to load.

7. 5- and 3-inch floppies, Zip Discs and countless other forms of data storage.

8. Wondering if you can afford to buy a RAM upgrade.

The Internet

9. Finding out information from an encyclopedia.

10. Using a road atlas to get from A to B.

11. Phone books and Yellow Pages.

12. The time before PC networks.

Gadgets

13. Sending that film away to be processed.

14. Typewriters.

15. Answering machines.

16. Pay phones.

Everything Else

17. A physical dictionary — either for spelling or definitions.

18.Writing a check.

19. Cash.

20. Libraries as a place to get books rather than a place to use the internet.

Do you see all of this. Can you imagine your child never knowing what these were. I can’t if you were to ask me. Keep the views coming to my site also. If you want a shirt you can go to this link and find some shirts to buy.

-The Jeary

Leave a Reply

